Paulo Coelho’s effect on me


It is literally amazing what Paulo Coelho’s writing can do to me. I am one of the people who pride themselves for not being blindly religious. I admire science and logic. I have hungry eyes and an open mind to absorb things. It may have been part of why I named this blog. I observe and analys.

In my childhood it was a different story, at school, I was strongly affected by a religion teacher of mine. He was kind of strict, had a strong faith, had a real knowledge of what he talks about, and gifted with an autherative voice tone that only added to his affect on me.

Being a calm person which I give the credit for to my biological heritance rather than my own ego, I was never the type of *sinner* that anyone would worry about. I was as innocent as an angel without any real physical desires that I couldn’t handle. Yet, like any other child, I had some little sins, like swearing of God’s name, which with the effect of my teacher, I was able to control and stop as well. I have even carried this effect till today. I find awkward when I get carried away and swear with God’s name now.

This only left me in a saintly state where at some point I got bored of myself. You can imagine how might other little kids felt about me. I remember funny comments (like being the conscience of the alley – but that was at a later stage of my life when I became a teenage).

Life isn’t built on one color, our growth force us to see that. No single religion carries the whole truth, and science doesn’t claim to know it all either. Blind faith doesn’t suit me, and it isn’t a choice that I consciously made either. Life has managed to crack my belief system, and with that crack, it shook my world. I have seen a light, and wanted more. But it killed my world. It killed my God. It killed my soul. It killed the angels. It killed the miracles. It killed what science doesn’t proove its existance.

It left me in a state of mind where I can just say that I am an agnostic. It is simple as “I don’t know”. I can argue for ages about the lack of a real proof of a spiritual world, and yet I cannot prove its inexistance.

But then comes Paulo. When ever I read a single page of his books, I feel my spiritual world being born again. He directs another type of light, a light full of love and hope. He creates new angels. He highlights miracles. He presents saints. He re-works prophet’s words. And he re-paints God with more powerful colors.

He leaves me with wider eyes. New eyes searching for signs. A feather drifted in the river of my life. An Observer who doesn’t just observe by sight, but also by signs and feelings. My language has changed. It acquired new expressions. Negative and positive energy are more tangible. I have even dreamt that a friend of mine had a raise in her salary, and she got one the next day I told her about it!

That never happened to me before. When my mom used to believe in her dreams, I used to laugh. I may laugh about mine now. It can be a coincidence and it can be not. It can be a start of a growing sixth sense for me, or a start of a hallucinating insanity.

It doesn’t matter as long as I feel good about it. I know it is the effect of Paulo Coelho. The person who seems to do a better job to serve God more than any existing Church on this earth.

19 thoughts on “Paulo Coelho’s effect on me

  1. I relate!Beautifully said…In Paulo’s Books, I found my self my own religion and God… I finish the last page … and look to the world around me… and it looks different with another taste and color…You speak my mind sometimes Observer! 🙂

    Like

  2. KJ says:

    It’s good you’re getting a rebirth. I am of the people who find it amusing when other say science and religion don’t go together. Anyway this isn’t the point here.A lot of us get doubts and we go on to many paths afterwards. I don’t think the majority of people would stick on one form of life all their lives. I mean certainly, Paulo didn’t come up with all these things without experiencing the opposite.

    Like

  3. Nice post Fadi, I really can relate, especially to the following statments:“Life isn’t built on one color, our growth force us to see that. No single religion carries the whole truth, and science doesn’t claim to know it all either. Blind faith doesn’t suit me, and it isn’t a choice that I consciously made either. Life has managed to crack my belief system, and with that crack, it shook my world. I have seen a light, and wanted more. But it killed my world. It killed my God. It killed my soul. It killed the angels. It killed the miracles. It killed what science doesn’t proove its existance. It left me in a state of mind where I can just say that I am an agnostic. It is simple as “I don’t know”. I can argue for ages about the lack of a real proof of a spiritual world, and yet I cannot prove its inexistance. “Thanks again for a great post🙂

    Like

  4. Well,To be honest, I actually found out that I share the same beliefs as paulo when I read his book, but I can completely relate to what you are saying. I understand what you mean when you refer to how you can feel +/- energy. I get some hints about people from feeling that energy usually. And whenever I think about someone, they usually call me or I hear from them somehow. and I did get dreams before that came true before🙂 I can tell you all about it bas not in a comment!

    Like

  5. life, we share a lot in common🙂. I am glad I speak your mind. I feel home at your blog as well.KJ, I wouldnt take it that far (rebirth) hehehe. There are some contradictions between science and religion, but some people like to twist this or that to make them go togather. 7aki fadi, that is cool! I am glad you like it! Thank you🙂Completely Anonymous and 100% Private, you have to write about your dreams. Post about it. I would gladly read it.Anonymous, thanks to the link. You are sick man.

    Like

  6. <>Life has managed to crack my belief system, and with that crack, it shook my world.<> that line spoke volumes to me🙂 I like to think that we are all good people, but at the same time we are all evil. What matters is that you be able to see your self in your own line and walk the path which you think answers the voices in our heads that some call conscious.For there is mystery beyond religion and our mind are able to follow cues that we are not able to tangibly explain, as for the dreaming bit, yes am still pretty much freaked out by it and prefer if i never experience those things.now am not a big fan(more of an anti fan) of paulo but i’ll give it up to you that you made me think about grabbing one of his books up again, any favorites (skip the alchemist if its one)

    Like

  7. no angel, wooohooo! I am glad I attracted you to read for Paulo😛I am sure the crack does speak volume to you🙂Forget about the Alchemist, it doesn’t even make the top 5 of his books.I recommend:1. Veronica Decides to Die2. The Devil and Miss Prym3. By the river Pedra I sat down and wept4. 11 minutesand now I am reading “the Witch of Portobello”, I really enjoy it so far. I don’t know, maybe it would turn out to be my favourite🙂

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    fadi, i read your blogs because you write from your heart so pure and clear so real and raw! you find the right words that many can not find but feel inside of them! Thank you for this blog! lots of love and light my warrior of the light friendmarie

    Like

  9. aywa mase7 jookh…barki paulo blog birja3 bi7ki 3an this post sometime in the future.hehehehe. Khalas man, ilak 3alayee that I’ll bury next to him when you die.🙂

    Like

  10. KJ says:

    I believe that in Truth (capital T) that both of them go together. But people don’t understand both completely and that is why one day this is true (small T) and the other day that is true.The world was flat, right?

    Like

  11. Observer,Firstly, allow me to apologise for such a late reply, i’ve had a crazy week. I was suprised you didn’t recommend the Alchemist, or the zahir, both i find to be rather incredible- not that the others aren’t. Ahh, i love them all! I read your last reply, and believe it or not, i could feel your love or my love, or just love as i read your words. Paulo’s book’s makes me feel exactly the same way! I feel empowered, and encouraged to love, and to believe in myself. I’ve never been subjected to staunch religious code, i’ve learnt about my own religion, i’m hindu, but my parents instilled within me, that God is inside of me, he is love, and no matter what you may call him, he is only one God for all. I’ve had freedom to experience the universe myself, and Paulo’s books gave me the courage to believe in myself, and what i’ve discovered for myself. His books makes me want to be a better person, they make me want to love, for they are ladened with truth. Universal truths that all lie within us, are suddenly highlighted, and we begin to see and feel love’s radiance around us and in our everyday lives. I must thank you, after reading your blog, i find myself inspired to write more. I’m setting up my own blog soon and i’d love to invite you as a friend sometime. As you read my work, you will discover a part of who i am, as i have discovered you over these past few weeks. Lots of loveYajna

    Like

  12. Yajna, you should write. I loved the picture of the ocean on your blog and I encourage you to write and bring out your love to the world with your words.I didn’t recommend the Alchemist and the Zahir because I don’t think they are good as the rest. Zahir got me a bit bored but all in all they are good. They are Paulo’s book after all. You can always find wisdem in his writing. You know what, he doesnt only inspires me, but also bring love through people like you and Marie. Lots of love to you all

    Like

  13. Observer,I suppose his books appeal to u most when u are able to relate to them. Thats why i tend to read them when i feel i should most. For example, i bought the Witch of Portabello months ago but haven’t felt the need to read it. Its werid in that sense, because i find i can only read his books when i feel the need to, and when i do, i find myself being most empowered. Like the Zahir was on my shelf for about 6 months before i read it, but when i did, it helped me understand many things i was going through. If i had read it when i bought it, it would have never influenced my life as much as it eventually did. Thanks for encouraging me to write, i finally did write something and put it up, hope its good.. Glad u like the picture i put up- i remember the moment i took it, i’d spent my day at a religious festival and i felt so connected with God, and the ocean was so beautiful, i had to take a picture to always remember the serenity in that moment.Lots of loveYajna

    Like

  14. hello!I’m also a big Paulo Coelho’s fan and I don’t know if you heard about his blog< HREF="http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com" REL="nofollow">http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com<>I’ve started as a fan and now I’m collaborating with him and thought that you would like to enter his universe.Check the blog, if you want, or subscribe to his newsletter< HREF="http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html" REL="nofollow">http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html<>You’ll see a community of warriors of light sharing ideas, dreams and most importantly following their personal legend.QUOTE OF THE DAY:A Warrior of Light never resorts to trickery.(Manual of the Warrior of Light)See u there and have a great day!Aart

    Like

  15. Hi Aart, Thanks for passing bye.Actually yes I am a big fan of Paulo. I know his blog and check it so often. He did even once checked my blog and published a post of mine at his. I will go and sign in to his newsletter. Have a nice day..

    Like

Do you have something to say?

